How Is The Sony A6000 With The Canon 70-200mm 2.8 IS II?


I peeked in my viewfinder. It was way too dark. When I zoomed in, I can’t get any lower than f6.5, it’s f4.5 at its fastest at 55mm. I can’t make my shutter speed slower. That will definitely turned out to a blurred photo. I had no choice but to increase my ISO. That is what I usually get with my SEL55210. Don’t misunderstood, please, I love my Sony zoom lens, when I have all the light outdoors, but in church where I usually shoot, I just got too much grain in my photos. I believed my SEL35F18 will not be suitable for my needs, either. That’s when I always wished, in this dark room condition, I hope I could have a faster telephoto lens. Then, I knew I only need one, that is the mighty 70-200 2.8. Wow! Yes I know, some of you may not agree with me but I knew that will be the gear for me.
After so much contemplation, moving forward, I finally got my dream lens. I am its third hand, though. Well, now, you would ask me, “Was it worth it?” Well… ahaha. That’s what I can say for now. But, let’s try to list down some of my questions prior to getting one which now I already have the answer.

  1. Will it work with my Sony A6000? Yes
  2. How did it work? With the use of Metabones IV adapter
  3. How did the Metabones adapter perform? It will make the lens work with the camera but is this what all the reviews were saying the best adapter for Sony? I wasn’t quite impressed, yet.
  4. Does Auto-focus (AF) work? How fast, if ever? Yes, in good lighting condition, it’s quite fast. But when it’s dark, it’s better to use the Manual Focus (MF). It will take time to AF. Your subject may wait forever if you’ll wait for the camera to do it automatically.
  5. Can I bear its weight? Well, it’s hard to zoom and focus manually if you are supporting the weight of the lens as well. So, after the shoot, I have to flex my hand as it’s quite a challenge handling it.
  6. Is it easy to use? I was used to AF, so I am adjusting.
  7. Aside it’s weight and focus issues, are there any problems that may be encountered? One time I encountered, it suddenly blacked-out. I can’t press the shutter. I turned it on-off but nothing happened. I changed my lens immediately and pulled out the battery. Thankfully, it worked. Then another incident where it stopped saving. The screen displayed ‘writing in memory card’ but the red indicator at the SD card slot stayed on. I can’t turn the camera off. I had to pull out the battery to make it stop.
  8. Am I happy after getting one? Of course, I just need to use it more wherein light is more available. In fairness, the photos are less grainy now. I just need to get used to MF. That could mean softer and more dreamy look as I will be able to blur others which are not of my main focus.
  9. How’s its performance, in general? I liked what I am getting now, with the current lighting condition I’m in. Though, it is challenging and I have to get used of manual focusing. I am excited to what I could get when I finally bring it to work outside.


I don’t have much photos to share now but I’ll make sure to update you as soon as I have gotten a few samples. You may post your questions in the comments if you’re planning to do similar setup as mine.

Leave a Reply

