My Introduction To Flash Photography

​I was always curious about flash photography. Would it really make a difference if I have an external flash? I saw YouTube posts where they have nothing but sharper and more dramatic photos. Though, others may say that it really won’t be needed, I still can’t help but to get one.

I just got a Godox TT685S and the X1-TS, S in the end stands both for the Sony version. I initially preferred the Nissin Di700a. Unfortunately, the purchase didn’t push through. Eventually, I ended up getting the cheaper Godox brand. In fairness with Godox, experts said that this has the power we may be looking. I really don’t know. I didn’t have any experience using any flashes, except only of the internal flash. So, basically, I have no idea what I may be or may not be getting at. I got this to use for shooting at the house, for my kids. Hopefully, I can get better results.

I was really lost. But, little by little, I got it working.

The flash

The transmitter, X1-TS

How To Use It On-Camera?

  1. Keep pressing the lightning button until the screen displayed that you are in TTL mode. If you opt to use other modes, just change it using the Mode button.
  2. Press the Function Button 1 (ZM/CFn), rotate the Select Dial button until you reached your desired zoom, range from 20mm-200mm. I’m still learning what settings would be recommended.
  3. Press the Function Button 2 (+/-) for flash exposure compensation. Select the Dial button to adjust.
  4. Press SYNC button for HSS, a shutter speed higher than 1/160 for Sony A6000.
  5. Press the Set button.
  6. Press the Flash button to test.
  7. In camera settings, set the flash mode to Fill-flash.

How To Use It Off-Camera?

  1. Keep pressing the lightning button until the screen displayed that you are in radio slave mode. The flash screen must have the red background and the icon in the upper left corner is an antenna with signal.
  2. Press the Gr button to select the group. Toggle it to change the setting.
  3. Press the CH button to select the channel. Use the Select Dial button at the middle to change to the required value.
  4. Press the Set button.
  5. Press the Flash button to test.
  6. You will notice two blinking red lights in the flash. 
  7. In X1-TS transmitter, set the CH. I use CH 1. 
  8. Set the Group to A. Make sure the channel and group have the same settings in the flash.
  9. Set the Mode to TTL or Manual. The other mode, two broken lines, means the flash shouldn’t be firing.
  10. Select CH/OK when done. 
  11. Press Test button.
  12. In camera settings, set the flash mode to Fill-flash not wireless and set e-Front Curtain Shutter to Off.

    That’s it. Other settings may be complicated for me to understand now.

    The samples

    emilie-bombita-flash-photography-no-flash

    The ISO is already high. Shutter speed is slower. If I decrease it more, it might have a blur. I’ve quite a shaky hand.

    emilie-bombita-flash-photography-internal-flash

    The advantage of A6000 internal flash is that it can be bounced or angled. Its downside is it’s maximum shutter speed is only 1/160.

    emilie-bombita-flash-photography-on-camera-flash

    Though, the flash is more powerful, the positioning is still limited. The background is still quite dark.

    emilie-bombita-flash-photography-off-camera-flash

    The beauty of off-camera flash is that you can position it to the best possible location. The maximum shutter speed setting can be at 1/4000. This is at 1/4000 but the lighting at the background is quite better. I’m sure if I’ll make my shutter slower, the photo will be way better.

    Leave a Reply

    