How To Recover Data From Your Corrupted SD Card

Oh no! My phone’s SD card was almost full, only less than 900MB was left of the 64GB capacity micro SD card. Yeah, I knew that, I have a lot of stuff saved there and I only just got the time to transfer it now.

image

My SD card which was almost wiped out.

Then, when I was just beginning to copy my files, suddenly there was an error that one of the files cannot be copied. I didn’t have the chance to capture the message as I thought it was just nothing. I selected the option ‘Skip’ but then the same error message displayed on the next file. I tried to eject the card then re-insert, however the next message said that G:\ is not accessible. I retried to eject then re-insert, for the nth time, the next displayed message really made me nervous.

“You need to format the disk in drive G: before you can use it. Do you want to format it?”

What?!!!!!

But, thanks Google, there were a lot of articles teaching how to recover corrupted files from SD card. I immediately got up from the bed (I just woke up, actually) and tried the following steps:

  1. Click Start, that’s the Windows logo at the lower left corner of the screen.
  2. Type ‘cmd’ in the Search program and files box then press Enter to open the command prompt window
  3. A black window must be displayed. Type cd\ to go back to the C:\ directory.
  4. Type chkdsk g: /r. Remember that g: was the assigned drive for your USB.
  5. Voila! When I checked my files in the Windows Explorer, there were all my files, restored completely.

Yey!!!!! This worked for me. Hope you’ll be able to recover yours should you encountered the same error. But then, again, I hope you won’t.
Just always remember to back-up your files, regularly. Will do it now.

Creating back-up,
Emilie

One thought on “How To Recover Data From Your Corrupted SD Card

Leave a Reply

