If Only

“Mommy, ouchy. Ouchy, Mommy.” Sounds cute? At first it was…

Last night would be one of the painful night for us, most specially to Maggie. When we got home, she’s looking tired in Mamita’s lap. That’s what they call their grand mother. When she finally saw us, her tears started flowing her cheeks. I suddenly felt sad for my baby. I know her, she wouldn’t cry a bucket if it just a simple pain.
“Mommy, my tooth is aching.” That was what she greeted us.
What a normal mother would do? Of course, comfort her. Tell her, that everything’s going to be alright. Even, if you knew, having experienced it before, that it is indeed, one of the most painful experience you may go through.



I started browsing the net, looking for something that could help her. What I found, couldn’t be as helpful to her. Making paste out of salt and pepper mixture. Though based in the comments, it was really effective for them. But, I couldn’t let her have this. This, I’ll reserve for my plan Z.
“Mommy, ouchy.”
I gave her an ice pack to put on her cheek to at least numb the area. Plus, she’s dabbing an orange oil, from Human Nature, to her cheek as well, to soothe her.
Then prepare warm water with salt solution. When I got back.
“Mommy, I’m feeling better.”
“What? What happened?”
“I’m feeling greater, Mommy.”
“That’s great, baby.” While praying at the back of my mind that hopefully, that was it. That she’s really ok now.

…At first she was. But, her pain worsen.
Tried massaging her back. Didn’t do.
Tried massaging the point between the thumb and the index finger. “Mommy, that was hard. Ouch!”
A series of going back and forth to brush her teeth and gargle warm water with salt. A small amount of paracetamol. Still, not enough.
“Mommy, I don’t like this anymore. I want to go to the dentist.”
“Mommy, hurry.” When I told her I’m going to buy the medicine.
“Mommy, go call the dentist.” When I told her I have to ask what medicine should we buy.
“Mommy, I’m going to die. I don’t want to die.” That struck me. I really don’t know what to do. She’s hurting. If only, I can carry the pain for her. I can only hug her. Comfort her. Sing to her. Pray for her. Assure her, that it’s going to be better….soon.

And sooner, she finally goes to sleep. What helped her?We don’t know, either. It’s may be thru His hands.

image

Maggie, smirking and showing off her teeth.

If you’re a mom like me. What would you do in a situation like that?

Leave a Reply

